Finding Balance 

             

     This past couple years I’ve struggled to stay on track and have found myself returning to some bad eating habits. As a result, in 2016  I gained back 40 of the 90 pounds that I’d lost. I’ve spent most of 2017 gaining and losing the same pounds. That took a big hit to my self esteem and self confidence!  Life gets in the way and it’s easy to slip back into comfortable old habits. Even though I consistently worked out, I was taking in more calories than I was burning. 

      Toward the end of September I started Trim Healthy Mama and even though I haven’t been perfect with it, I have made great strides in finding a balance with how I approach eating.  As 2018 approaches, I want to continue to focus on good nutrition and avoid the all or none mindset that leads to binging out on food.  I’ve been learning lots on the THM Facebook group and trying out new recipes to replace the ones I made with sugar, pasta, potatoes, and flour. 

      This holiday season I’ve enjoyed small amounts of off plan foods, but I’ve done much better with keeping in moderation. I’m finding a balance that has led to a peace within me that transcends to my mind, body and soul.  I know I won’t always get it right, but I’m on the right path toward my goal of fitness for a lifetime. It’s a journey, not a destination! 

About Diane Cartwright

Diane lives in East Tennessee with her husband and teenage son. She is a high school teacher, teaching Culinary Arts to tomorrow's aspiring chefs. When not blogging, she is active in her church, and dedicates time daily spent with God. She and her husband workout with a personal trainer for strength training and physical fitness. She ran her first 5k in March 2014 and has since ran in two half marathons.
This entry was posted in fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment